jump to navigation

Eid , the book cafe and the fairy ride October 1, 2008

Posted by habeshaviews in Uncategorized.
trackback

No habesha people in sight, so far anyways. I am sure there are a lot of them in NYC. I just haven’t bumped into one of them yet. in the meantime, I am going exploring crazy New York by myself. Getting lost and finding myself two thousand times a day. Eid day I took the fairy to Staten Island. It gives a very beautiful view of Manhattan and the Lady Liberty.

   

I accidentally ended up in a nice traditional cafe in Staten Island. its called the Book Cafe. Very Cosy reading environment with slow west African Music..( for those who are wondering …yeah ,there is a slow west African Music ). I guessed the one playing when I was there was Mauritanian. They also had cheap Internet services. In general, Internet cafes in NY are ridiculously expensive.

Late afternoon I went to Central Park and joined some people from work for a volley ball game. Its a well preserved and multi-functional park. According to Wikipedia the construction of the park began in 1857 and it has an annual of 25 million visitors . The site further says the park looks natural but its entirely landscaped. For some reason it didn’t seem natural to me. Its a beautiful place to spend your day either reading or sporting.

                 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

