jump to navigation

Slumdog Millionaire March 15, 2009

Posted by habeshaviews in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is my first movie review here. I spend more time watching movies than reading books but it never occurred to me to do a review so far. I watched “Slumdog Millionaire”  this weekend in one of the mushrooming movie halls here in Addis. One of the things I am keeping myself busy with while doing noting.

I loved it and loved it. Its a story that narrates the life journey of two Indian brothers that grew up in slums. I am impressed with the fact that it brought out the lives of street children in the slums. Great performance from the kids playing the early childhood characters.

Comments»

1. Sanja - March 19, 2009

I didn’t have chance to see the movie yet… Will do it!
🙂
P.S. Why I wasn’t informed about your blog???

2. chinkilo - March 19, 2009

Just like the hollywood pundits…There are hundreds of Bollywood movies which convey the same message and theme with better acting performance and outshining all the merits you listed….My friend don’t be fooled by holywood, the only reason for all this hype is because it’s produced by hollywood…..It only ranks as an average movie by Hindi movie standards…I won’t even bother to comment on the “fantasy” storyline which runs contrary to it’s supposedly “realist” message….

3. habeshaviews - March 19, 2009

In general, Bollywood movies are too long and simplistic for my taste. Might have a point on the story line but its still impressive how it brought out the way children struggle to survive in the slums and how such social issues as religous conflicts reflect on their lives.


Leave a Reply

