jump to navigation

Going to D City August 11, 2009

Posted by habeshaviews in Culture, Ethiopia, Travel.
trackback

I am actually blogging from Dire Dawa.  Believe it or not , its my first time here.  My friend thinks that I should be exectued for that :). Its just a green and beautiful place to be with great warm and windy weather. Walking down the streets, you would find kids as old as 7 hitting on you. So cute to hear ” Hi , konjo” from akid who can’t even pronounce it well. And guess what ?…got a wifi in the hotel!

Yeasterday ,after work, I asked a bajaj (love them BTW) to take me around town. Its well planned with eastern style buildings and residential houses spreading all over town. There is a big arabic influence through out the city. I was told that a few years back , there was large number of arabic and egyptian settlers in town. The bajaj driver also told me that about 50 years ago locals (blacks) were not allowed to come to the white settlement area. Call me ignorant ,but its so new to me to hear an actual segregation existed in Ethiopia.    

       

Comments»

1. Blogging – Posts about Blogging as of August 11, 2009 | MelaniedeJonge.com - August 11, 2009

[…] there were very little knowledge about blogging and blog promotion. These days there […] Going to D City – habeshaviews.wordpress.com 08/11/2009 I am actually blogging from Dire Dawa.  Believe it […]

2. ankami - August 14, 2009

Have a good trip. I like your Habeshaview to discover the country.
C&L


Leave a Reply

