jump to navigation

Of Harar , Fruits and Valentines February 17, 2010

Posted by habeshaviews in Culture, Travel.
trackback

Eshi …another round of travel ..this time went to the ancient city of Harar. And by that they meant ancient in every sense of the term. Its as if at some point someone said  ” I think we are taking this development thing too fast ”  and then they decided to hold on for a few centuries.

Battles between ethnicities, cultures and religons are visible even in archtectures around the city. Its just amazing  to me how and why a whole town decided to have its own compound.

I ate fruits I had never tested before. Big and delicious. I went and saw the famous wall/gates of harar and the hayna feeding people. To be honest , I found nothing amazing about hayna feeding….best thing out of it is the guy making 50 bucks in 15 minutes.

Valentine’s Day was upon us on Sunday. I thought I managed to escape the scenes in Addis. In harar the lunch tables at the restaurant we frequented had red plastic flowers on each table. Just for the record, being alone  sucks this time of the year!

I looked at the list I made a few weeks back of the list of things I might have killed for, I seem to be falling in the same pattern. Courtesy of  my constant failure to make decisions. I finally managed to take a few days off of work , got a new cell and still  trying not to make a big deal out of  getting sick everynow and then.

Comments»

1. Hilina Abebe - May 14, 2010

Harar is one of the towns i am dying to visit. Unlucky for me! I still haven’t seen it yet. What has made me eager is what i have heard of the people being the most friendly! Can’t wait to see it!

habeshaviews - May 14, 2010

yeah , its a nice place to be. very historical too. If you make it to DD …it should be easier to get there.


Leave a Reply

