jump to navigation

Out and About – Awassa March 1, 2010

Posted by habeshaviews in Travel.
trackback

A friend suggested that I should do travel tips on Ethiopia. Sort of a ” where to stay and eat” kind of  list. Party because I usually wouldn’t shut by about the places I visited.

So today I decided to do one on  Awassa , the southern town about 3 and half hours drive from Addis. It’s a town that never ceases to surprise me- it always have something new coming up. New cafe, hotels , buildings ,offices ..etc.

Okay ..Here are the places I enjoy whilst in Awassa

Lake Side – a neat and quite place to stay. Clean rooms , 24/7 water and electricity… 20$ per night.  Plus, You would enjoy a nice Italian pizza from “Dolce Vita” restaurant.

Pinna –  great food (best shiro , fish goulash)

Blue Nile – Delicious habesha dishes

Lewi 2 –  Great burger and love their french fries with cheese.

Green wood awassa :-  nice mart to shop fresh vegetables and fruits.

Lake Awassa –  accessible and walking distance from most parts of town. Great spot for morning walks and taking fresh air by the beach. there are a number of small cafes  by the beach side serving soft  and/or hot drinks.

I never stayed in awassa more than 5 days. Most of the time I am either on my way out to another location or getting back to Addis from the further south or south-west. Coming back its the first decent town on the route.

I think awassa must be the most favourable town for taking a walk with paved side walks and less dense population. I love it for its small and neat. I love it for its ever warm weather and  for its bajajs and for its lake.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

